IELTS stands for International English Language Testing System. IELTS is owned by three partners: Cambridge English Language Assessment, part of the University of Cambridge, the British Council and IDP Education Pty Limited

There are TWO kinds of IELTS: General Training and Academic

  • General Training is suitable for those who want to use language as a tool in social and workplace context or those who would like to go abroad for work experience or work training.
  • Academic is appropriate for those who wish to study for a long time in an English-speaking country, further their education or work in a professional English-speakig organization

(On my website, Academic IELTS is focused, because that kind of test is much more challenging and high school/ university students are object-oriented)


IELTS tests the students all four skills in English: Listening – Speaking – Reading – Writing

Listening 4 sections 30-40 minutes
Reading 3 sections 60 minutes
Writing 2 tasks 60 minutes
Speaking 3 parts 11-14 minutes



The results are reported on nine-band scale. IELTS provides a score in the form of a profile for each of the four skills, which are also reported on nine-band scale. Each Overall Band Score corresponds to a descriptive statement which gives a summary of the English language ability of a candidate classified at that level.

More information about format of each test for each skill will be discussed in other posts: